Welcome back! Coming back to work after maternity leave…

I have been back to work for almost 2 months now and I have to say that it has been the perfect solution for me and my family.  I work 3 days a week so it’s a nice way to ease back into the workforce.  It is nice to have 3 “adult” days – I honestly feel like I lost IQ points over my maternity leave!  After seeing how hard it was to come back after just 5 months, I can not imagine how it would feel to try and come back to work after a number of years.  So much has changed and I feel lucky that the people I work with are so understanding and patient!During my leave, I was fortunate to meet Sara, who also has a baby girl who’s the same age as my daughter.  It was so nice to have someone in the same situation to talk to and discuss going back to work with.  She went back to work a week before I did…and we agree that we would have  returned to work a lot sooner if it hadn’t been for each other (is that bad???)  I feel so guilty for wanting to go back to work – I really never thought I’d be the type to want to work!  I’m lucky that we’re in a position for me not to have to work and it’s really nice to have the option…but I always thought I’d be the “stay at home mom”.  Funny how age changes thing I guess!  I feel guilty saying it (especially to those mom’s who don’t work…) but I love being a working mommy!  I cherish the time I spend with my daughter but I also treasure the time I spend with fellow adults.  I feel that, for me, I have a wonderfully balanced life.  Can’t wait to see what happens next! 

Leave a Reply

