Bring on the baby proofing!

So the time for baby proofing the house has finally arrived…much to my chagrin. While I’m really excited to see my little girl grow up and reach milestones, this is the first time I feel like I need to change the way I do things because of my baby. I’ve tried pretty hard to maintain my lifestyle – making time for friends, lunches, dates with hubby, going shopping, etc. and still spending quality time with Madeline. Up to this point, I think I’ve done a really good job of incorporating her into our life and not the other way around. Now, I’m at a point where I have no choice. I need to protect her from herself – and that means rearranging our home.

I’m a little bummed that I need to baby proof everything – changing the way we look at our home – for the next few years. Our house has unusually wide doorways, making traditional baby gates impossible to use. They simply aren’t big enough. The other option in baby gate “technology” is the hardware mounted gate which means that we’d need to tear into our precious wood molding to put a baby gate up. I’m not sure why no one has invented a better solution to this issue (these wall mounted large space gates are everywhere!), but I am NOT going to drill holes in my wall for something I’m going to take down in a year or less! My temporary solution was to move the furniture to basically block all of the doorways in our kitchen/tv room with a little passageway for us…not the best, but it works and doesn’t require any patching when she’s mastered walking and doesn’t need the gates any more…that is when we take them down, right??

I did have one idea though – to put a baby corral in my kitchen and let her play in there while we’re in the kitchen. My question is: what do I do when she gets bored? Madeline can play by herself for @30 minutes before she needs a) new toys or b) a change of scenery. I can either keep putting different toys into this corral or move the corral…hmmm, this may work. I am going to at least try it out and see how it works.

The other baby proofing problem I have has to do with the kitchen drawers and cabinet doors. I simply do not want to install the hardware to prevent Madeline from opening them. Maybe I amlazy, but the idea of installing plastic parts (that will most likely break and not work anyway) into my beautiful cabinets just makes me sick. Why can’t cabinet manufacturers build add-ons into cabinets?? Then I could add them and take them off easily! Instead, I need to either install cheap interior locks or watch her every second that I’m with her. Isn’t there an easier way to do this?

Leave a Reply

