Tis the season for birthday parties!

Purple/Blue Cube Cake

So I’ve been thinking of ideas for Madeline’s 1st birthday party (less than 2 months away!!! crazy!) and although we’re keeping it small (just family, mostly), I can’t help but want to be creative and have fun with this. I don’t want to go crazy, but it’s fun to think of fun things to do.

So I’ve decided on a cake – probably a building block with her initials on the sides (fondant for sure though!!) and I’m ordering it from Sweetness (Kristy’s sister’s place). I got a father’s day cake made (in the shape of Madeline’s favorite toy, a plush purple cube) by her and it was OUTSTANDING! She’s more reasonably priced than White Flower and the taste of her cakes and fondant are out of this world. The only difference in prep between a fondant cake and the typical cake is that you need to take it out of the fridge 2-3 hours ahead of time to allow the buttercream to soften. I’m getting a cake craving just thinking about it!

As far as stuff for the kids to do, I’m just going to use a few plastic pools (they’re yellow and in the shape of flowers – so cute!) and fill one with water and one with sand. That should keep them entertained, right?

For the invitation, I know I should just email it to everyone, but I thought it would be cute to make my own with a picture of Madeline – then people can keep her 1st year picture. Maybe that can be the favor instead?

Leave a Reply

