Why is she so upset??

First, I want to apologize for not writing in over a week! Thank you to Krys for covering for me! Things have been so incredibly crazy at work that I have even been working on my days off – I know, no pity for me from those who work full time, but for me it has certainly been an adjustment!

My question is, “why is she still occasionally waking up in the middle of the night at almost 1??” Madeline has always been a great sleeper, sleeping through the night (I’m talking 12 hours) since she was 10 weeks old. But it seems that every few months (more frequently when she was younger) she’d go through a period where she’d wake up in the middle of the night. Now, I don’t mind it when she wakes up and talks to herself – I actually think this is really cute. What I don’t understand is what exactly changed over the last few days?

Prior to Sunday night, we would feed her dinner, give her a bottle, get her ready for bed, lay her down in bed, and that would be it. She’s stick her thumb into her mouth, lay down, and go to sleep! So easy! Sunday night she started a new “habit” where she’d scream, as though she was in massive pain, as soon as she saw the bed. She SCREAMED for 15 minutes and then went to bed. I don’t know what happened! The same night, she woke up, not talking to herself, but SCREAMING.

David and I have a rule that we don’t go in to get her in the middle of the night unless she is sick or the screaming gets progressively worse. I have a self imposed “15 minute rule” where I don’t go in before 15 minutes have passed (again, unless she’s sick or getting more upset). So, we waited the obligatory 15 minutes, where by 10 minutes she was only crying occasionally, and she was back to sleep.

One Response

  1. Hmmm…… wow. My girls are 4 today and they will STILL wake up sometimes. I’m thinking back to that first year and some of the things that happened.

    Do you have a nightlight or something? Fan? Music? At some point we felt like they became afraid of the dark (spontaneous SCREAMING!) and putting in each of these three things really helped. They STILL have the fan and Delila on each night! 🙂 And now I have to have the door cracked open with the hall light on – at 4!

    If it happens one night or very infrequently, it could also be gas/stomach ache. Lily also had nightmares (??) in which she would scream out when she was sleeping – I would usually just rub her back until she calmed down.

    We also made the mistake during this time of sitting in the room with them until they fell asleep. We even went so far as to get a “book light”. DO NOT do this, it took YEARS to break and even still, they will ask for me to “stay” in room. Bedtime would take upwards of 2 hours with this routine – NOT GOOD!

    I wish I had more substantial ideas – just kinda thinking about Lily and Ava; then again, they had colic/intestinal issues for the first year! HA!

    Love,

    Krys, Lily, and Ava

Leave a Reply

