Fenugreek supplement

Okay, so I am still nursing and pumping while I’m at work. I have plenty of milk to satisfy him when I’m with him, but I have been struggling to keep up with his milk demands while at daycare. First, because I think my pump is a lot less efficient than he is, so I get less milk when I pump versus when I nurse him, and second, I think he drinks more out of a bottle because he can drink it faster without working as hard. I pump everyday to have enough milk for bottles to get him through 3 days a week at daycare. Needless to say, it’s difficult to have any extra set aside. Well, my husband and I are planning to go away for the weekend in August for a wedding and are not taking Alec with us. My mom is going to come stay with him and the dog. It will be the first time I have been away from him overnight. I am both excited and nervous about it. But I have been very anxious about being able to set aside enough milk to get him through a couple of days with my mom and continuing to meet his current weekly needs for daycare. This prompted me to try fenugreek. For anyone who doesn’t know, it’s an herbal supplement that is supposed to help increase your milk supply. Apparently, it has been used for centuries in other parts of the world. At this point, there isn’t any good research on its effectiveness. Some people say they don’t notice a difference at all and others swear by it. I thought, what the hey, might as well give it a try. I noticed a difference immediately. Since I have started taking it, I have been able to freeze an additional bottle and a half or so every week. It has a maple syrup/celery sort of smell to it and apparently is added to artificial maple syrup for its scent. A possible side effect is that it can make your perspiration and urine smell like maple syrup. Kind of weird, but all in all, not a terrible side effect. I have really found it to be useful and wish that I would have started taking it months ago, so I thought I would share with you all. If any of you are still nursing, you might want to give it a try.

One Response

  1. WOW! I wish that I’d known about that when I was nursing. I had the same exact problem as you, Taylor, and I ended up giving up nursing because of it. I simply couldn’t get the milk she needed when I wasn’t with her (by pumping) and when we decided to go away from 5 days I simply quit. I am proud of myself for going the 5 months, but I am SO IMPRESSED by women who work AND continue to nurse! Kudos to you for doing your research to keep it up! I’m sure that others will find this very helpful 🙂 I’ll keep it in mind for the next child.

Leave a Reply

