Celebrating a first birthday

After much deliberation, I decided to have a small party for Madeline’s first birthday. The weekend we had it was jam-packed (2 weddings and 2 parties plus ours) so I wanted to give myself as little work as possible for this event. Although I made the conscious decision not to have a big party, part of me is feeling guilty for not making a bigger deal out of this milestone birthday. I ended up not doing a single thing until the day of the party (well, i did make pulled pork a few days before…does that count?), but all in all it ended up being a nice little party. Although it was very nice, small, and exactly what I wanted, I can’t help but feel guilty for not doing more…a quandary I’m sure we all face at one point in time. I feel like there is so much pressure to have this “amazing party” for your child’s first birthday, and anything short of a guest list of 100+ with clowns, music, and entertainment is a disappointment for those who attend. Although I haven’t felt any pressure within my own circle of friends, I have other friends who have been pressured to produce an extravagant affair for their child’s 3rd/4th/5th birthday. I hope I don’t succumb to future pressures (actually, I hope I never get these pressures from friends/family as there’s enough self-pressure without them!).

Leave a Reply

